// Veganize my CupCakes

I hope everyone is enjoying a good thanksgiving! I know I have been even though I don’t eat Turkey and I don’t eat stuffing. I love pumpkin pie though and really enjoy the family togetherness. I just found a recipe for Pumpkin Pie Cupcake Recipe: Unfortunately I already baked too much Cupcakes earlier this week for a party for a friends Birthday, SO I couldn’t attempt these this week:

Pumpkin Pie Cupcakes

My own cupcakes were made and they were not from scratch this time. They were from those cupcake boxes this time because of low prep and strapped funds ( school *sighs), but I find they are so delicious. Adding some food coloring, soy milk and bananas. Oh if I didn’t mention before, I am allergic to milk and I really don’t like eggs so most of the time I Veganize my recipes. It’s much easier to find recipes using this term.If you didn’t know, “Veganism is the practice of eliminating the use of non-human animal products” according to wikipedia. Too me it is a term used for people that abstain from animal meat, animal by-products, dairy and eggs and they are almost like a more strict Vegetarian. I love Vegan recipes though and you don’t have to be strictly Vegan to enjoy them. If you are wondering I really can’t have any of the cupcakes at The Cupcake Girls without feeling a sick, but I hear they are getting a Vegan Cupcakes. Sometimes I really hate that everything in our society has milk.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A Few Gorgeous Vegan Cupcake links:
Vegan Cupcake Recipes.com

The PPK.com:Cupcakes

Holy Cow Vegan:CupCakes

Busy Vegan:CupCakes

5 responses

  1. Wow! Those cupcakes look delicious, I also have a big sweet tooth:) And I’m lactose intolerant so “veganizing”, I have found, DOES work well when trying to find decent and suitable recipes. I also agree with you when you say that everything has milk!!!so frustrating:(

  2. Thanksgiving is awesome especially when you have two dinners to go to ;). Yes! I am curious to know too. I love baking cupcakes especially for m nieces and nephew. The best part is decorating them in the end. I love baking them for holidays too such as Valentines day or Christmas. I find it almost fascinating how people can create the most coolest designs even on cupcakes!

    • Vegetababe: I don’t know if I am a lactose but I had an allergic reaction to cream a few times and anything with milk makes me really really sick within a couple of days after eating it. It is frustrating!
      Mika: Easy. There is tons of recipes. A lot of recipes that call for milk have several substitutes. You can use soy, almond milk or rice milk for many recipes. Eggs I sometimes I don’t have in recipes because I don’t really buy them. So I use replacements that I have on me. When I first started making Vegan deserts I checked all my answers on the internet.
      Example: Adding other ingredients to compensate:

      To replace one egg use 2 1/2 tablespoons of powdered egg substitute plus 2 1/2 tablespoons water OR 1/4 cup liquid egg substitute OR 1/4 cup silken tofu pureed OR 3 tablespoons mayonnaise OR half a banana mashed with 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

      Read more: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_can_you_replace_the_egg_in_cupcakes#ixzz1aX6xR9Fi

      Rashakhatib: I too had two thanksgivings. My boyfriends family and then my to my fathers thanksgiving. I would love to learn those unique cupcake designs with that flexible cooking material… can’t think of the name.

  3. This is a really great vegan cake, with lots of protein and plenty of flavor! It’s also a wonderful blend of East and West :) See ingredients below! Ingredients: (for 1 single layer round cake or 12 cupcakes @ 350 Degrees for 30-35 min) 1.5 cups nuts (roasted and finely crushed in a food processor) 1.5 cups flour 1 cup sugar 1 cup water .5 cup vegetable oil 1 teaspoon baking powder 1 teaspoon baking soda 2 Tablespoon apple cider vinegar 10 cardamom pods (peeled and finely ground) 1 teaspoon fennel seeds (finely ground) Roast the nuts until lightly brown and crush them until finely ground in a food processor. In a large bowl, start adding the rest of the ingredients one at a time. If you don’t have any whole cardamom pods or whole fennel seeds (or you are too lazy to peel & crush them yourself), you can use cardamom powder and fennel powder. Bake at 350 degrees for about a half an hour. You will need more time if you are making a round layer cake, and less time if you are making cupcakes. Test by inserting a toothpick- if it comes out clean then the cake is done. Let it cool, and top with a sugar glaze (1 cup powdered sugar, pinch of cardamom powder, 2 Tbsps water, whisked) and slivered almonds or coconut flakes- or even real silver (like Indian Burfi!) Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

